Steak crust without “Sharpie” grill lines

Jon Tofte

TVWBB 1-Star Olympian
I am still learning about different goals for cooking steaks. In personally have always liked crosshatch grill marks (and judging by many steak photos and winners of contests I am not alone). I guess that is one reason I have enjoyed using the controversial GrillGrates - though not exclusively.

However, I have been trying to widen my horizons. Here are a couple pictures of steaks that do look good to me:

F170C83E-52E8-4BF4-B84E-E19D779C426D.jpeg

6421DFF0-87A6-40F5-9635-87B749831A5F.jpeg

So what do you all think? Are these better or are crosshatch steaks?

7C0D67D8-F1F9-45AA-A239-FE7EB9394027.jpeg

I like Chef Adam Perry Lang’s approach.

Attachments

• 9C03CD30-3133-49B3-B062-8D14CB12C4F6.jpeg
    9C03CD30-3133-49B3-B062-8D14CB12C4F6.jpeg
    167.4 KB · Views: 22
Yeah, Jon, that's like choosing between a silver '63 split window Corvette and a red one. :)

If I'm on the grill, I usually do the crosshatch. If I'm inside, it's the all-over sear in the CI skillet (windows open, stove hood on, and a zip lock bag over the smoke detector!) I don't have a preference, love 'em both!

Rich

I prefer the char, visually and also taste. The grill marks are ok, but those thick lines from the cast iron grates turn me off for some reason. Jumbo Joe is my go to steak cooker, it does the char amazing. Fill it with lump and let everything go wide open.

I always cook steaks outside on the grill. The grill has a stainless steel grate, so I get the traditional grill marks. I'm happy. 🙂

For the last couple of years I've been doing our steaks and burgers in a cast iron pan. I get a perfect complete sear with a delicious crust.

I use this method:

How to Cook A Restaurant Quality Steak at Home in 15 Minutes

Ingredients

1 tsp. vegetable oil
1(6-8 oz) boneless steak, preferably ribeye or New York strip
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1 tbsp. Unsalted butter
1 clove garlic, peeled and slightly smashed