Limiting Acrid Taste in a WSM

TJStanley

I want to make a thread about some of the tips to reduce the amount of acrid tasting BBQ and white smoke so that other new WSM owners don’t end up throwing perfectly good meat in the garbage as I have done more times than I’d like to admit in my fledgling BBQ career. Feel free to contribute any other tips you have as well. I am by no means an expert, and am still struggling with trying to control not having acrid tasting BBQ but part of it is due to not following tip #1 here.

1. The WSM takes a little while to actually start burning clean. Ideally, you don’t want to see any smoke at all before you put any meat on the pit. I like to light mine with the minion method with the chimney overtop of the fire ring. Once the charcoals are glowing hot I dump most of them in the middle and the rest scattered around the fire ring. At this point put the top back on and open all the vents completely. Here is where you will see the most white smoke. You do NOT want to put your meat on at this point because this is dirty smoke and the pit is not ready yet. From what I’ve seen so far it take around 45 mins all the way up to 1 1/2 hours for the smoke to become clean and in most circumstances transparent or very close to. It’s at that point you want to put your meat on because that’s the sweet smoke you want your meat absorbing for the best flavour. The earlier white smoke is essentially imparting soot on your meat which will likely end up in the trash because it tastes so bad.