Grill Restorers: Get this Knipex tool!

Thanks for the share, Jon. I just headed over to Amazon and ordered a pair. You can never go wrong with Knipex. FWIW - Knipex refers to any of their push button style models as ”cobra” pliers. They also make traditional slip joint pliers under the “gator” designation but the cobras are the superstar of the brand when it comes to adjustable pliers. I’ve had their 7”, 10”, & 12” cobras shown below for years now along with their side cutting diagonal pliers, linesman pliers, and ratcheting cable cutters. All of them are of unsurpassed quality and functionality. Knipex might be pricier than other brands in general but they are worth the investment. Pic for reference to plier style and cobra nomenclature only. Shop around for best pricing.
IMG_0361.jpeg

Last edited:
Tom,
I am just an accountant learning late in life to do a few things with tools. In my limited collection, the very few Knipex ones that I have sprung for clearly stand out.

Since it is only a very part time hobby for me, I have contented myself with more Harbor Freight stuff. I have found some uneven results to be sure, but some of the Doyle and the couple Icon brand tools I have bought there aren’t too bad - at least for a CPA tool user wannabe.

IMG_6197.jpeg
IMG_6198.jpeg

Colin,
I think you will be pleased. That particular tool can sometimes save you from using a cut-off wheel. All there stuff reflects high quality manufacturing.

The ones we posted most recently have smooth contacts. They have a similar adjustable button slide as the Cobra pliers but can be used on finished metal. They also exert considerable pressure when needed due to the leverage design of the moving part.