Big time Brisket Fail

PeterD

TVWBB Super Fan
Hi all,

First cook of the season turned out to be a shoe-leather disaster. 13.1# Angus (pre-trim weight), trimmed down to 11 lb, 12 oz. Mustard slather, salt, Coarse and cracked black pepper, a dash of cayenne, ancho, celery seed and espresso-grind coffee—my usual brisket rub—applied about an hour before it went on. Weber Smoky Mountain 18" (old model, with shallow water pan and no thermometer in the lid). Minion method with about 20 lit, and 6 embedded chunks of post oak. In other words, the same setup I've been using for a few years. I used a FlameBoss 300 Wifi controller since I needed sleep overnight.

Normally I just throw the brisket on right away, but I wanted to try to get a clean fire this time, so I waited. Temps shot up to 350 and stayed there, even with the blower unplugged and the top vent down to just a fraction of an inch. After 2 hours it calmed down and I put the brisket on at midnight. With a 12 pounder on there, I figured mid-afternoon should be good. Seemed to go OK overnight, with a few oscillations around 7am (it's always done this and I can never understand why, but that's not important right now).

Looking at the graph from the FlameBoss, it got through the stall OK, and hit mid-190s, which is when I usually start probing with my Thermapen. It was tough as leather, and the Thermapen was saying upper-170s/lower-180s, depending on where I was probing. OK. Still under, so I wrapped in butcher paper and put it back on the pit for 2 hours. No change in temp, no change in texture (still rock-hard in the flat). The point was perfect. Temps still in the 180s. I started to get a feeling that this was going pear-shaped fast, and that's basically what happened. I wrapped in foil this time, back on for another 90 minutes. No change. It never topped 200. Remember, this was a smallish brisket. I stopped residual cooking, wrapped in foil and set it aside for 90 minutes in a cooler.