Tips for cooking a pork shoulder, minion method on a webber kettle

BryanJSmith

Hello

My first ever post after finding this amazing site whist googling around looking for BBQ tips. Ive bee BBQ for a few years and I would say i'm an experienced beginner. I love cooking on the BBQ and want to experiment and broaden my skills.

I'm intending to try to cook a smallish Pork Shoulder joint on my kettle. Ive read a few threads on here and I understand the method using a WSM but what tips would you give me on adapting the method to a Webber kettle ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated....

Thanks

I would use the Snake/Fuse method

fuse_in_kettle.jpg

I've used the method above many times before I bought a WSM. The key is finding a sweet spot for your bottom vents. I've found that maintaining temperature in a long cook in the kettle is a fair bit trickier than the WSM. Definitely want to have a remote thermometer to monitor kettle temp (high and low) and meat temp.

I use the snake method as well. Temp control can be tricky, once the fire is established I have the bottom vents as close to closed as possible and use the top to control temp. The top too is almost closed once the fire is established, it just doesn't seem to need much air to keep it going. It's usually running between 225 and 250 if I'm lucky. It's actually better on a colder days because it's difficult to keep the kettle under 240 on a very warm day.

I build a two level fire using a pair of thin fire bricks: