The Elusive 225

John_NJ

TVWBB Wizard
I need some advice Weber Summit Charcoal Kamado owners:

I have done a few low and slow cooks and as the thread title alludes to- I cannot get the grill to keep 225 degrees.

I have been “fine tuning” both upper, and to a lesser extent lower vents, but as I am approaching a steady 225, the coals seem to extinguish- I guess lack of oxygen.

I am not ready to throw in the towel and get an electronic temp controller just yet.

Anyone have similar issues or advice?

Thanks in advance.

I don't own a WSK, but I learned not to fret over some " magical" number because the only thing magic about 225 is it takes longer.
Find your smokers sweet spot or where it settles in. Mine was/is 275.
I understand what you are saying, and I am pretty new to the coal grilling scene.

I’ve done a few pork spareribs, a pork shoulder and today is beef brisket day.

I have the Weber Summit cookbook that came with the grill as my guide, and all those cooks say try to stay as close to 225 as possible.

So there has to be a way I am thinking.

Holding 225F is a common BGE discussion topic. Many suggest going with 250F or 275F.

On the BGE I can hold 225 F with the billows, yet there is not much coal or smoke wood burning and I don't get as much smoke flavor. I think 250 ends up with better results.

Tomorrow I'll be cooking ribs on the WSK. I'll see if i can get it to settle in at 225.

you gotta really choke the airflow down to keep temp that low, 250-275 is more realistic and imo better results

I need some advice Weber Summit Charcoal Kamado owners:

I have done a few low and slow cooks and as the thread title alludes to- I cannot get the grill to keep 225 degrees.

I have been “fine tuning” both upper, and to a lesser extent lower vents, but as I am approaching a steady 225, the coals seem to extinguish- I guess lack of oxygen.

I am not ready to throw in the towel and get an electronic temp controller just yet.

Anyone have similar issues or advice?