Got a Center Pork Roast... Now it's time to ask for advice.

Michael Richards

TVWBB Emerald Member
On my last big new cook a single bone Rib Eye Roast after Rich G. called it just a steakšŸ˜‰, he recommended a rack of pork as my next big new cook.

When Rich D. backed that recommended I was on it. So at the Butcher today asked and this is what he said I was looking for. I got myself a 3 bone just over 4 lb Center Pork Roast. Looks very similar to what Rich G. recommended except it has part of the chop bone still attached.
Now it is time to ask for advice. I have zero experience with this... how do I prep this, do I leave that fat or trip it? What about that chop bone?How do I season it? How do I cook this, times, temps, to what internal temps? I have the kettle and the WSM, Weber charcoal baskets, and vortex at my ready. How do I make the most of those loin ribs still attached? What do I serve this with? And all the other questions I am missing.
And advice is welcome!
Thanks in advance as always guys!

IMG_20210203_154044.jpg
IMG_20210203_154054.jpg

IMG_20210203_154102.jpgIMG_20210203_154119.jpgIMG_20210203_154131.jpg

Last edited:
You're in great shape, Michael! So many different things you could do. One of my favorite preparations for pork roast.......

Mix together 2-3 Tbsp dijon mustard with enough olive oil to make a nice paste consistency. Add salt, pepper, and whatever herbs you like with pork (for me, thyme, oregano, basil in whatever combination I feel like), and some minced garlic (3 cloves or so?) Slather this all over the pork roast, then cook indirect until it hits about 135-138F. Then do a nice direct sear on the three non-bone sides, remove, rest loosely covered for about 10 minutes.

Remove the bones from the roast, and cave some good 1/2-3/4" slices. If you are feeling generous, you can share the bones with the family......if you aren't feeling generous, well..... :)

If you are a briner, then by all means add a brine step before the above.....

R