Different !!

ColePell

TVWBB Member
I’ve been smoking ribs in my WSM for 5 years.. I had it figured out.. I bought a pit boss with pellets … not the same at all… cooked for the same amount of time… just curious if anyone has input… I think I overlooked them on the PB

Pellet grills don't do a great job of infusing smoke when compared to a WSM. You can use a smoke tube to pick up the smoky goodness. Pellet grills are wood fired convection ovens and will cook a bit faster at the same temperature as other indirect methods. Like any other cooker, they definitely have their place and also have a learning curve.

Pellet grills don't do a great job of infusing smoke when compared to a WSM. You can use a smoke tube to pick up the smoky goodness. Pellet grills are wood fired convection ovens and will cook a bit faster at the same temperature as other indirect methods. Like any other cooker, they definitely have their place and also have a learning curve.
Thanks!! I’m learning that … maybe fattier meats would absorb the smoke more too …

If you're interested in specific pit temps you may want to consider placing a third party thermometer on your pellet grate; my experience with pellet smokers is they don't report the actual pit temps. But I do like pellet smokers.

Good luck!

I’ve been smoking ribs in my WSM for 5 years.. I had it figured out.. I bought a pit boss with pellets … not the same at all… cooked for the same amount of time… just curious if anyone has input… I think I overlooked them on the PB
Why the change to the Pit Boss? I purchased my WSM new back in the year 2008 but have not fired-it-up for at least 5 years. Appears that the WSMs are being rapidly replaced by these “Out-Door-Ovens”. My “Go-To” is now my Weber Kettles fitted with a SlowNSear Deluxe and a Cajun Bandit Rotisserie.

Last edited: