What would you do?

Since I've gotten back into BBQ, I've been cooking 4 nights a week for the two of us (me and my wife.) I usually do three different recipes during the week, then on Sunday I do a pizza.

This afternoon, while discussing last night's pork chop recipe, my wife tells me that I'm a better cook than she is, and — this is a verbatim quote — "you can buy any BBQ thing you want!"

So...if you were given that kind of free reign, what would you do?

Last edited:
I would look really hard at the Weber Summit E6.
That one is already on my wish list. And, interestingly enough, a Summit Kamado came up on Craigslist a couple of days ago. It's not an E6, it's one of the original models with the side-mounted gas assist. It is unused (assembled, but never fired up — still has the plastic wrap on the handle) and the seller is asking $1300. That strikes me as a "wait for it to drop under $1k" price; what do you think?

Depends on what you have now.
Apparently my sig doesn't show up on mobile devices...so, I have a Master Touch and a Genesis 3000. I'm hoping to add another gasser this weekend (since we can't burn charcoal during the heat of the summer, I need a backup summer grill.) The rest of the year I use a kettle (replaced my old rusted daisy-wheel with the Master Touch earlier this year.)

Besides, this is "what would you do?" I don't want your thoughts constrained by what I already have, so I'm more interested in what you'd pick for yourself if you were given carte blanche — and why.

I'm hoping to learn from what others have done/would do. It might inspire me to make changes in what I have now, to better fit something I might want.

Last edited:
Well, Grant, it sounds like you are doing pretty well with what you have. (y)
As far as the CL Summit Kamato, if were me, I would let them set on it a while. I wouldn't feel bad if it got away. I would be a buyer in about the $750 range, but that's just me.

Last edited: