SMOKED BBQ CHICKEN

Duc

Finally broke in my WSM 18.5 and smoked a whole chicken last night for dinner. Literally happy with the smoker and the results were great. Used my FIREBOARD 2 DRIVE with FIREBOARD's FAN BLOWER. The thermometer and fan worked great with no problems, went back and forth between 250-275 since I'm still learning how to find that sweet spot with my vents. Not bad for a noob, WSM doesn't make it any simpler to smoke meat. Served with Shoyu Charred Greens and Mushrooms alongside with some Cheddar Scallion Biscuits. Oh, and the BBQ sauce is also housemade as well! Hope ya'll got to smoke or BBQ this past weekend too!

Attachments

• IMG_2273.jpg
    IMG_2273.jpg
    172.4 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_2274.jpg
    IMG_2274.jpg
    208.9 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_2287.jpg
    IMG_2287.jpg
    173.7 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_2284.jpg
    IMG_2284.jpg
    107.1 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG-2283.jpg
    IMG-2283.jpg
    190.1 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_2280.jpg
    IMG_2280.jpg
    164.5 KB · Views: 33
Looks great!

I noticed your comment about using a fan and your vents. Typically if you are using a fan to control the air intake you want all other vents closed with the exception of the top vent (exhaust) which you want wide open. Using my BBQ Guru PartyQ controller I set it to the temp I want (all lower vents closed, lid vent wide open) the pit temp will only swing 1°-3° degrees for hours.

Looks great!

I noticed your comment about using a fan and your vents. Typically if you are using a fan to control the air intake you want all other vents closed with the exception of the top vent (exhaust) which you want wide open. Using my BBQ Guru PartyQ controller I set it to the temp I want (all lower vents closed, lid vent wide open) the pit temp will only swing 1°-3° degrees for hours.