Rubbery Chicken Skin

JohnY

Hi all, I’m cooking on a WSM 18” and having an issue with my skin not crisping. I dry brined overnight on a rack to get moisture out of skin. Sometimes I do this with baking powder as well to raise ph and promote crisping (I’m new to bbq though). Then I smoked the chicken at 225 for an hourish until I hit 165F, then opened vents all the way but could only get to 285F for about another 45 min or so. Pulled chicken at around 185F. Chicken was great, great smoke, juicy, but the skin was tougher than the leather on my car seats.

I know I likely need to get the final temp up higher, but any advice or tips you guys can give me? Anything in my process that’s wrong?

You need to get hotter for sure. I usually run my chickens up to 375-400. Hard to get that hot on the WSM, without a ATC. I will crack open the lid with my BGE ash tool to let in the extra oxygen to make the temps climb up. Not done that on my 18, but it works great on my 22.

Charlie

No water pan, I was actually using the firedial. Just got one specifically for chicken.

Also forgot to mention, these were bone in/skin on thighs.

I’m thinking I could get pretty good temps with lump and a little computer fan I have. I was using KBB and pecan in this attempt.

C Lewis, what temp and times do you generally run chicken? Are you lower at start to render or do you hit them at 375-400 whole cook? Is that for pieces or whole birds?

I’ve pulled skin off when making thighs for tacos. Baked the skin in the oven pressed between 2 cast iron skillets. Put the chicken cracklings on the tacos. It was good!

It's hard to get decent skin in the WSM when cooking at low & slow temps. Skin will always be rubbery.

You have to cook hot, hot, hot. That will give you bite-through skin, if not crispy skin. To crisp, you need to move the cooking grate directly over the charcoal ring at the end of the cook.

Try this for better results: