Newbie Question: Does this grill need to be replaced?

John-Paul Wood

I'm a grilling newbie and newbie doesn't really even capture my ignorance when it comes to grills themselves so please be gentle. :) I've had this Weber Grill for probably about 10 years. It has seen little use, but been exposed to the elements with a cover over it for many years. It fires up perfectly and the burning tubes (if that's what their called) look good to me.

The rest is a bit of a mess and I just tried to clean it and this was the best I got. I recognize that replacing the grates would probably be a good idea. The flavor bars are rusted, but still provide coverage. And finally it is probably the inside of the grill that concerns me the most. As you can see, the coating has peeled away in a number of different places.

Ultimately, my question is, should this grill be replaced entirely or can I get away with just replacing the grates or should I also replace the flavor bars? Burning rust into my food doesn't seem like a good thing to do, but then again I'm sure it happens more commonly than I realize. What about the coating inside the grill? Is that imperative? Could I be exposing myself to any potential health issues by using this grill with rust and the coating peeled away in parts? Any guidance is appreciated.

2020-05-08 14_24_14-Window.jpg

I don't know what you mean by the coating being pulled away. Don't know what the pile of stuff is in the lower left of the photo but honestly it looks like it's hardly ever been used

Sorry, I'm referring to the coating inside the grill itself. It appears to be some kind of black coating that has pealed away over time. Compare the highlighted images below with the image above and you'll see the areas where it is exposing bare metal. Is that normal and safe?

2020-05-08 14_24_14-Window2.jpg

John-Paul: