18.5 vs. 22.5 I know its an old question but

Peter Wells

I realize that others have struggled with the question of choosing between an 18 or 22 so I am not alone or unique. But I am struggling over the choice. The facts are:
1. I am retired and when I cook it is usually for my wife and myself
2. If I cook for more it hardly ever more than 5 - 6
3. I have only smoked on my kettle once - so I am a total newbie
4. I would like to smoke chicken, turkey as well as ribs, briquets pork
5. Money really is not an issue though $100 isn't a meaningless amount

There are probably other factors but those are the ones that come to mind.

Welcome to the site Peter Wells. I have a 22 WSM and am half thinking of getting a 14 or 18. Given what you have said, I would think the 18 might be your best bet given that many here use the 18 and can cook a lot of meat on them. Do you have any other Weber's currently?

Welcome Peter. I got the 18.5 a few months ago for much the same reason your citing, it's just my wife and I and occasionally another couple or two. The 18.5 is more than adequate for our needs. Hope this helps.

Between your kettle and a WSM you will be set. I agree with JR that the 18 is your best bet since you already have the kettle. Your wife will be very happy with the food you will be cooking. Good luck.

The 18 is your ticket,the 22 is way to big for your crowds. And I feel quite a bit more expensive to operate. So I agree with the other. Have fun!

I recently bought an 18 because i had lowes store credit and they don't sell the 22".

The only real issue i have is if I am smoking multiple rack(s) of ribs, I often will need to cut, bend, rack, or roll, but honestly its pretty manageable.

I recently had two rolled racks of STL spares and a 9lb boston butt all on the top rack together.

On a prior cook i had two STL spare racks mostly flat on the top rack together. they were tight but they fit.