NG furnace vs modern heat pump

Brett-EDH

TVWBB Hall of Fame
Who has which and what’s the real cost or benefits of either?

Seeking real world input on moving to a modern heat pump system. Current heat is NG furnace and I’ll likely be updating my hvac system.

Pros, cons, pitfalls, glaring issues. Share them all please.

Who has which and what’s the real cost or benefits of either?

Seeking real world input on moving to a modern heat pump system. Current heat is NG furnace and I’ll likely be updating my hvac system.

Pros, cons, pitfalls, glaring issues. Share them all please.
Climate matters. Where you live and the specific equipment you choose will affect performance and cost of operation...sometimes dramatically. I live in Northern NY and have used heat pumps exclusively for 4 years now with both pros and cons to show for it. FWIW - I design HVAC systems for a living and can get as deep into the discussion as you wish. Every locality has what is know as a “design day” temperature that systems are targeted towards. This is the lowest outdoor temperature at which your designed system will be able to maintain the temperature in the home. If you know this, we can go from there. If not, share your city & state and I’ll look it up for us to have a baseline to start from. Any recommendation I might have will be subject to change based on design day conditions.

I look forward to reading feedback from our members on this question. I'll assume not many of our members here are Refrigeration or HVAC pros, so I'll share the following site in case you want to pose the same question where there are several pro members: https://www.diychatroom.com/forums/hvac.17/