Kingsford vs Franklin Charcoal vs Royal Oak

M Strickland

TVWBB Member
I have been using Kingsford for over 20 years and know exactly how to use it. I generally add some chunks of oak or hickory and have been very satisfied with it. The only problem I have with it is the amount of gray ash left behind. I use the Minion method in my WSM.

I got a copy of Aaron Franklin's book "Franklin Smoke" for Fathers Day and was reading about his brand of charcoal. It costs $1 a pound. They claim that it is pure post oak with no fillers and that it leaves very little ash.

I've also read that Royal Oak is pure oak with no fillers and leaves very little ash.

Has anybody compared Kingsford to either or both of these other brands? Which do you like better? Also is there a difference in the amount of charcoal you use for the Minion method with these other brands?

SO that's pretty cool, but I wonder what it means to actual cooking and flavor/aroma performance. I've never made a secret of how I can smell Kingsford a block away because of the burning petrochemical smell. Did you note anything in differences between them like this?

I've never compared charcoal so I like the burn test example done by Chris above.

Kingsford blue bag is the only charcoal briquet I use. I've never noticed a problem with the smell of Kingsford. Maybe I'm just used to it, hahah.