Is the Charcoal Rim in my WMS necessary?

Howard V

TVWBB Member
I did a pork butt for 12 hours this past weekend.....it was an overnight from 11pm to 11am. I woke up at 8am to check the meat and noticed temp dropped down to 150lb and I only had a few (4-5) charcoal left. I had to toss in a batch of lit charcoal to get it back up to 250. I was really disappointed that it drop down in only 8 hr after hearing folks had theirs going for 10-12 hrs. I used the minion method with a coffee can with Kingsford Competition Brisquets from Costco. I filled it up all the way to the top rim when I started.

Should I get a bigger charcoal rim or go "no-rim" to get a wider radius of charcoals? What is the purpose of the rim -- any safety issue if go without one? I am new to charcoal and WMS so I am not sure. I am sure I can fit in much more charcoal with the rim and get a longer cook going.

Howard, not sure what happened here, I use the rim and I've had cooks go for 12 hours and could have went 14 hours. Lot's a variables to the process, when I filled my water pan I used hot water, I had taken the butt out of the fridge an hour before going on the pit. The weather when I did my cook was calm, no wind and the outside temperature dropped about 15 degrees. I had also used Trader Joe's charcoal. You will get plenty of good advice from guys who know a lot more than me, but I would encourage you to keep trying.

I've found with mine it's often a matter of stirring the fire to get the accumulated ash to unclog the grate....then the temp will recover and the fire will go good another few hours. And this is usually a good time to pop in a few hunks of unlit charcoal to supplement the fire.
Note: if the meat is uncovered on the grate , remove it before you do this. :wsm:

Good point Frank, I have taken a rubber mallet and lightly tapped the legs of my WSM to knock the ash down.