Herb Garden

Darryl - swazies

TVWBB Diamond Member
Not the real good herbs...........man.......
I was gifted this by the wife........this hydroponic garden at Christmas. You can do herbs, vegetables or flowers apparently.
It works pretty slick, takes all the guessing out....automatic timers for the day and the biweekly cycles.
Basically it’s dumbed down to very limited labour, I can answer any questions regarding its operation.
So this pic is 20 days in and I have went with all herbs. This model does 6 at a time.
Different herbs sprout and grow at different rates obviously.
Does anyone have one of these or something similar?
The plant on the far right is basil and I am making a nice dinner tonight the wife will enjoy and wanted to use a couple sprigs of fresh basil to finish it off........my question is for you growers, is the one one the end big enough to snip the 2 big leaves off of it withou any harm?
I am new to growing still, don't want to kill it if it’s still too small.

Attachments

• E40ABE00-6C3E-4626-8A84-FD4620367DAA.jpeg
    E40ABE00-6C3E-4626-8A84-FD4620367DAA.jpeg
    103.5 KB · Views: 23
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    114.9 KB · Views: 23
Yes, you can trim some basil off without hurting the plant.

I looked into the one of those but decided that we had much more room on the patio and went with this cedar planter. This was the first go round, with some cherry tomatos and peppers. After that harvest we put basil, thyme, lemon thyme, rosemary, sage and oregeno in it. We will be replanting in the spring due to the current freezing temps we have had in SE Texas, something you don't have to worry about with your system. I bet it smells good too.

Planter.jpg

You can cut the basil taking the big 4 to 6 leaves and it will just grow more. Cut the main stem.