Help with getting a OTG to low temp

Tim Evans

I'm relatively new to charcoal. I've been the proud owner of a 22" OTG for two weeks.

I've been doing some dry runs as suggested at amazingribs.com. I have no problem getting a steady temp in the 325 range ( but I have to have the bottom damper almost completely closed for that), but getting it down to 225 seems impossible.

My usual 2-zone setup is around 40 briquettes (Kingsford; I know the arguments for lump, but I prefer the consistent heat per briquette) with a water pan on the other side of the charcoal grate. I sometimes use a water pan on the "direct side" of the food grate. I've been taking the temp with a Maverick ET-733 on the indirect side of the food grate, about 2 inches from the far edge from the coals.

With this setup, the only way I can manage to get below 300 is if I if I crack the lid.

Thinking that I need to use less charcoal, I tried with the ridiculously small number of 20 briquettes, but I get the same results (just not able to hold a steady temp as long as with 40).

Any ideas what else I can try?

Suggestion -Use the Minion Method. Start with 10 lit on a bed of unlit. When temp gets to about 200, close the bottom and top vents 75%. See if that doesn't help.

I agree with David. Try the minion method with less lit coals. Or try the snake method. I've got a smokenator for this. Whatever works. My smokenator holds 225 like a champ.

A follow-up question

One quick question regarding the snake method. Everything I read says it's for long cooks. What about if you need a low temp but only for 30 minutes to an hour, like with this recipe? Would I just make a shorter snake?

Temp is largely determined by the number of coals that are burning at one time. For short cooks with low temps, light a small number of coals and use a short snake.