EX4 Incoming

Colin

TVWBB All-Star
I have been looking at pellet grills lately and had it narrowed down to two, the Recteq 380X Bullseye Deluxe and the Smokefire EX4. Well, I found a BNIB EX4 with $500 worth of Weber accessories on FB MP for nine bills. We're picking it up this evening.
The Dark Side is going to be daunting!

It may not be as tough as you think. We have some good folks here that will answer your questions. Download the BILT app for assembly. Weber recommends it. If you're not adverse to using Facebook I'm an Admin on a friendly group of Smokefire owners. We have over 9500 members and if you want help with anything Smokefire related we have good folks that will help. Additional, we have a member generated FAQ which is a collection of tips, tricks, and lessons learned. Tips like a link to spare fuses bigger casters, and a discussion on grease fires. On our files page you will find more technical help and recipes. The group is "Weber SmokeFire WoodFired Pellet Grill: Owners Group", The tone of the group is like you find here on TVWBB.

Colin, remove the finger guard in the bottom of the pellet hopper. One screw at a time. The screws hold the auger and chute assembly in place. With the EX4 I recommend waxing or spraying with food safe silicone the inside of the pellet hopper. It's a safeguard against pellet bridging and then a flameout.

Congratulations, happy to see another member join the mix. Those cast iron grates will look good in the SmokeFire. Great buy!

Last edited:
Got it put together this morning after doing the dog walk and plant watering. The heat was brutal, but I had fun! The packaging was quite impressive. Not one dent or ding on anything. Very well done Weber! Also, the assembly instructions were as good as I have seen for anything I've put together. Another tip of the hat to Weber.