Charcoal ring/diffuser plate on Weber Performer

Colin

TVWBB All-Star
Today was the day the 7.5 lb pork butt went on the Performer. Not a big deal but I have been planning this for a week. What makes it significant is I have never done one on the Performer before, they have always been done on the 18.5 wsm. It is also the first cook using the charcoal ring and diffuser plate that I made per Tom Horsman's YouTube video replicating the charcoal ring and diffuser that comes with the new Master Touch Premium. Many thanks Tom, great video! I did a burn-in on it earlier this week and got six hours with a load of kbb with ambient temp in the low 30's so my hopes were high.
Very simple cook, prepared the butt with my go-to rub for ribs. Kansas City's Cowtown 'The Sqeal' made famous at Joe's KC barbecue. My family loves that stuff. Apple wood for smoke.
IMG_20210113_095824.jpg
Pit temp was slow coming up but made it to 220 after about 30 min., cool and breezy this morning. When the butt went on at 10:00 am, the temp settled at 240-250 for the first three hours. Very uneventful, the way I like it. Man, I'm kind of impressed with this contraption!
IMG_20210113_161920.jpg
At the six hour mark the internal temp stalled at 165 so I decided I would wrap with an apple juice spritz and finish it on the gasser.
IMG_20210113_162817.jpg

Took it off at 205 and let it rest for 30 minutes per Cook Commander's orders.

IMG_20210113_163611.jpg

IMG_20210113_190412.jpg
I really liked how easy it was to control the temp in the bbq range. I think this may be a really good low and slow alternative to the Slow n Sear. What's cool about it is it works so much like the WSM. I'm thinking if I see a Master Touch Premium in the big box store it may have to come home with me.

Last edited:
Colin,
Great looking cook and great post through and through. I am waiting on the aura defuser plate set up https://auraoutdoorproducts.com/collections/kettle-zone-pre-order-specials/products/kettle-zone