Beef Ribs

Morrey Thomas

TVWBB Super Fan
I am a veteran smoker, but recently have become interested in beef ribs. In my area, pork ribs are the king, while beef ribs are not nearly as common.

I found a rack of angus beef ribs at a local, high-end grocer. The ribs had a fair amount of meat between the bones, but the top of the rib was shaved right on the bone with no meat there.

As with pork ribs, I pulled the membrane off the underside. With a bit of work it came off in one sheet similar to the way pork does.

I cooked them low and slow with a good coating of rub. They cooked about as I expected, and the toothpick between the bones had me pulling them at hour 4. I foiled to let rest in the Cambro for an hour of so.

The ribs were very tasty and nicely tender. Two question I have:

There seemed to still be a tough membrane on the rib. I thought I had pulled it off well, but there was still a tough inner layer.

Additionally, are there ribs available that are more generously cut than these? If I could find beef ribs with a half inch or so of meat on the top, I would be more likely to make this a frequent meat on the WSM. As is, these ribs are not meaty enough to fill the demand at the price they were sold at.

Morrey,
Shiners (closely trimmed) beef ribs are about all that I can find in my area.
My solution is to buy a whole bone-in rib roast.
Remove the ribs for one cook, then cut a few rib-eye steaks and a roast or two from the rest.
Costco has good prices on packer rib roasts.

Sorry, I can't help you with the membrane issue, never encountered it that I can recall.

Morrey shiners is about all one can find nowadays unless you do what Mr. Correll said. You might want to try short ribs very meaty & tasty. And beef ribs are the King of all ribs by a very wide margin.

I've found real meaty beef ribs on a regular basis about 4 years ago at a local grocer.
Their meat department is fantastic!