24” Aluminum Foil

Bob G.

TVWBB Member
I’m new to smoking last year and started smoking this year without water in the modified Smokey Joe lid water pan I did this year. It is shallow like the early 18” WSM water pans. I can cover it with 18” aluminum but the 18” width just barely covers the edges. I use 4 pieces of foil and alternate the direction of wrapping the 4 pieces.

I looked around the web and found 24” wide x 500’ aluminum foil. Figured it would make it easier to wrap the water pan. Told my GF about it and found out that she’s been getting some stuff from the same website. Had her get me the 24” foil on her next order. It arrived today but haven’t used it yet. Tore off a piece and GF and I compared it to RR 18” HD foil and we think they both feel the same thickness.

Price was $48.49 + $16.11 shipping to my zip code. I figured if I used 4 pieces 2’ x 2’each time, I can wrap the water pan 62 times. If I only use 2 pieces as the other 2 pieces are usually ok, I could wrap 125 times. Or less if used for other stuff or mess up wrapping. :)

7EBD7CC7-0615-4E98-823C-E20B38A82954.png

Yes, I've also looked into really wide aluminum foil, but as you found it's super expensive. I am lucky to have the original shallow WSM pan and just wrap with two pieces of 18" HD Reynolds Wrap and that seems to work fine for me.

Chris,

The 24” seems a little expensive but if you compare it to the 2 pack of 18” RR at Costco for $19.99 for 300 square feet total to the one I showed at 1000 square feet, it’s not that bad.

RR sells 24” x 500’ on Amazon for $199.

Edit: The 24” RR on Amazon is Extra Heavy Duty.

Last edited: