Taking the big jump

Andy V

TVWBB Member
Been grilling pretty heavy for the past few years with the weber genesis and feel like I need to increase the challenge. I want to get into the BBQ scene but not sure where to start. Should I start brinkman or wsm?

Been grilling pretty heavy for the past few years with the weber genesis and feel like I need to increase the challenge. I want to get into the BBQ scene but not sure where to start. Should I start brinkman or wsm?

WSM!!
If you do the brinkmann you will be disappointed and or frustrated. WSM is more efficient and easier to handle. Plus this site prefers webers...we can help. This site helped me a lot and I'm still learning.

In other words you want to get into smoking? If so, WSM for sure.

But if you are mostly a griller and on occasion want to do some smoking I would go with a 22.5" kettle.

I started with a brinkmann about 4 years ago and I believe the word frustrating would describe the experience. I love using my WSM. It stays at temps without fuss and cooks great. Something I never got out of my Brinkmann. With the Genesis for quick stuff the Weber Smokey mountain will be perfect. You can cook anything on the Genesis but anything low and slow is better on the smoker. Good luck

grilling with a gasser will leave you short in the charcoal cooking dept. suggest looking for a cheap 22.5 kettle on cl and get some experiance under yer belt first. after you have gotten some charcoal experiance then you can switch to a wsm for some great smoking.

don't get the brinkman, I started with the brinkman because it was a gift from my girlfriend. Though I am grateful for it because it was an inexpensive way into this obsession, it is not near the smoker that the WSM is and you will end up upgrading anyway down the road. The real question is 18 or 22.