Working from home

Brad Olson

TVWBB Diamond Member
The COVID-19 thread contains a few scattered posts about working from home but I thought it might be interesting to give the subject its own placee in the spotlight. My last day in the office was Wednesday, March 18 and that night my boss texted that we're all working from home until told otherwise, so since then I've been doing that on a regular basis for the first time ever. I work in IT and have a company laptop, so all I really need is a halfway internet connection and on Friday the 20th I went into the office to grab some notes and documentation. I also borrowed the 20" monitor from my desk, as there was no way I was going to spend 40 hours a week looking at a laptop screen.

At first I was going to work at the kitchen table but that's where my wife works when she's able to avoid the office, so I carved out a space on an old desk in the lower level of the master bedroom. I made a keyboard shelf by pulling out the drawer part way and laying a piece of 2x12 across it, but I might need to come up with something a little better. And to replace the muzak that plays at work I turn on the TV in the upper level and play cooking/food shows in the background. It took me a couple of guys to get into a rhythm and develop a routine, but now I've settled in pretty good and while I actually wouldn't mind working this way all the time I do miss the camaraderie of the office.

I find that I'm saving water by only showering when my wife tells me to, and underwear lasts a lot longer when you don't actually wear it. Plus on days when she's at home, we can play "The Boss and the Naughty Secretary". Or did you not need to know these things?;)

For other first-time-at-homers, what have you done to adapt and adjust?

Last edited: