What's cooking this weekend...

Bill S.

TVWBB Pro
What's cooking this weekend...?

First cook in a looong time.Throwing in a 10.5# brisket (9# after trimming). Had grab one from Walmart, so I imagine it's a "Select" from Excel. Looks decent enough though.
8372391884_a28f8680d6_b.jpg

8371318221_6e4e0eaf82_b.jpg

8372389396_0638637836_b.jpg

8371320461_a5c5aff448_b.jpg

Throw the rub on in the morning and in she goes.

Last edited:
I got the exact something today at our local Walmart. Same weight too. I put in on the smoker about an hour ago...my first all night smoke. Planing on 16-18hrs.

This is my first time doing a whole packer and the first I have bought from Walmart....Are they good quality?

Good luck with your smoke,
Dan

I've only done one before. It was ok. What temp are you smoking at? I'm throwing mine on around 4:30-5am or so for dinner.

New member here.
Just got my WSM, and breaking it in tonight w/ an 8lb pork butt. Can't wait for the pulled pork tomorrow afternoon. Smoking over Kingsford charcoal, oak nuggets, and hickory nuggets. Temp is currently at 225*F.

Hi Steve and welcome aboard.

I am doing an 8 pound picnic shoulder tomorrow. I'm doing it in my 18 1/2" WSM, at 250F, for about 8-10 hours. Using KBB and red oak chunks. Hopefully the pulled pork sammys will be good!

Bob

How are the briskets from Walmart smoking wise vs others? Still have yet to tackle one and was going to hit up Costco but didn't even think to check Walmart.....Any pros or cons of either one? Myself I`m doing 2 -4lb pork loins for the family and they want one Maple brined and the other I`m rubbing and then wrapping in bacon. Hope the weather in Albany is a bit warmer for you Bill....Ex Rochester NY person myself and I know its cold in Jan...LOL

I'm also doing an 8lb butt. It's sitting in my wsm as we speak. Hoping for some awesome pulled pork tomorrow for dinner.