Water Pan Question (This one may be a little different)

Bob Ivey

TVWBB Emerald Member
Having only done two cooks on my 22 WSM, I am still learning the ropes. So far on both cooks, I have used a full water pan unfoiled. I didn't mind cleaning it when I was done but that could change. The problem is that when my wife saw me pour the remaining 25% water and grease in "her" kitchen sink she was quite upset. She suggested emptying it on the lawn by the back wall. While I know there is a diversity of opinion about water or no water, foil or no foil, and any number of other opinions, what I want to know from those that use water in the pan is, where is the proper place to empty it.

HELP!!!

I hope I dont get in trouble for admitting this but I dump mine in the corner shrub in my house and kick a little dirt over it. Plant is good and wife is happy. I did the sink deal and I tried the toilet she didnt like that at all.

I don't use the water.. well okay a few times when I needed 225.:wsm:
Please don't dump the grease down the sink or toilet, that stuff will solidify and a potential call to a Plumber with a drain auger will be in you're future.
I let mine cool over-nite than when the fat got solid and settled at the top I scooped that into a plastic coffee can which I kept in the garage freezer.
When it was full I tossed it in the trash.
I do the same with all my drippings and foil using a empty foiled pan.

Tim

This idea just sounds nasty but some people do it, dump the cooled off ash from the charcoal into the water bowl which will make a thick nasty messy clump which can be dumped into a trash bag or just dig a hole in a secluded little spot and pour the water in the hole and fill it back over

Like timothy said if you pour it down the drain you are asking for trouble .When I use water I let it cool first then pour it into a 5 gallon bucket that has at least 2 if not 3 small trash bags in it, tie them up one at a time and in the trash can they go.