New Smoker Here.... just introducing myself

BWalker

TVWBB Member
Folks-

I've been grilling for quite a few years but ventured into smoking on my trusty ol' 22.5" Weber Silver One Touch yesterday. I used the snake method (2 on bottom, 1 on top) halfway around the grill and smoked 5 chicken thighs. With the bottom vent half-way open and top most of the way open, it held between 250* and 300* for 4 hours. The thighs only took about 75 mins to finish, but they tasted great. I'm planning on doing another trial run with the snake tonight (2x2 or 3x2 3/4 way around the grill) and play with the vents to get a better feel for time/vent placement and am thinking of smoking a pork butt and maybe some fatty's this weekend. Any advice you can give me using the snake method or vent position on the OTS would be greatly appreciated, but I'm sure I'll be posting/lurking a lot in the future. Cheers!

Beau
Louisville, KY

Welcome to the board! You will become addicted to smoking and this board. Lot of great people here, and lot of great advice. I would say stick that same method. It sounds like it work well, and you were at the right temps. TRY IT AGAIN, I say...

BWalker;
Here are a couple of references (links) to help you. The second link shows you how to set up a One Touch Gold to adjust the temperature. Your One Touch Silver doesn't have a convenient ash box to mark the position of the bottom damper. However, absorb the idea pictured and maybe you can rig up something to allow you to do the same with your OTS. All you need is some heat resistant material positioned in such a way that you can mark it with a "permanent" marking pen (I have to keep renewing the marks on my OTG as the weather and heat eventually removes them.

http://www.amazingribs.com/tips_and_technique/charcoal_grill_setup.html

http://www.amazingribs.com/tips_and_technique/controlling_temperature_with_vents.html