Lodge Cast-Iron Pizza Pan

Richard Garcia

TVWBB All-Star
In reading the instructions on cleaning the 14" Lodge Pizza Pan it states after it is dry to add a few drops of cooking oil. Question, what is the best way to store-it after adding the oil? My thinking is that I will store it in a plastic bag or in aluminum foil???

I'm far from a CI expert, so my input will mean very little but I also store mine in an open area. Despite everything I've read and watched online regarding seasoning and adding a very small amount of oil I still had trouble and sometimes would come back to a tacky touch. Then, about 18 months ago, I bought some Camp Chef conditioner and apply a thin coating after cleaning my CI items and I feel like I'm having a better experience.

https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000H86C9I/tvwb-20

I leave my stuff open air. I use flax seed oil. I think it's better to leave them to breath. My dutch oven I had not used in a few months had a bit of mold in it as I left the cover on. Some oils can spoil in the right environment.

Just leave it open. Do not store it in foil. Aluminum and Iron/Steel set up a galvanic action and you will quickly have a corroded mess

I’m with Tim, leave them out in the air, you don’t need to use a lot of oil, just a few drops and wipe it with a paper towel, do it every time and you will be rewarded in the long run.
I got one of those “chain mail” scrubber things as a gift, when I find something stuck, it works really well to gently remove I’d and not ruin the surface.
Check out “Cowboy Kent Rollins” on his cleaning method too, very simple, my carbon steel skillet has been getting a lot more use lately.

Thanx to all that replied and plan on using it on a weekly basis in order to justify the cost to the wife: Amazon: $40 and another $68 for Costa Rican Import taxes and shipping cost;)