La Caja China

Bill Freiberger

TVWBB All-Star
I know that this isn't really grilling, but because there's no smoke it's not barbecuing either. I didn't know where to post this, so I made the random choice that this page would do.

On Father's Day, I picked up a used La Caja China from Craigslist. I've wanted one for a while, but I'm not a big fan of paying list price. Especially for something that I may only use once or twice a year. I have a lot of cookers, but none will do a whole pig, and that's the next thing I want to try. So, I've been searching Craigslist for a couple of years. After several near misses, I finally found one and picked it up.

Since a whole pig is very expensive and I've never used this kind of thing before I thought a test run would be in order. So, I pulled a pork shoulder out of the freezer, thawed it, injected it and cooked it on La Caja China for the 4th. Here are some pics. Click the thumbnail for a larger picture.

Here I am tending to the coals.

Here's the pattern I used for the coals since I was only cooking 10lbs of meat.

The finished pork shoulder.

And here's a close up.

All in all, the guests and I were pretty pleased with the results. One or two more test runs and then I'll be cooking a whole pig.

Bill

Last edited:
Now that's a cooker that you don't see at every house on the block. I would like to try a whole pig sometime.
Enjoy the La Caja Bill!

Nice very nice! When you cook that whole pig you prolly need some addl kalifornians to assist :)

I will indeed need some help with it since my wife has already told me she won't be involved. She's not a big fan of foods that look the same cooked as they did when they were alive.

Bill

very nice! i know those are pretty popular in south florida, don't think i've gotten to try anything made on one yet, looks good! now onto the whole hog!

Very cool. We were talking about this at work not too long ago. I would love to try one.