HOW DO YOU COOK YOUR BEER CAN CHICKEN?

Good question, and to go along with that...when you are doing 2 chickens do you place 1 on the top grate and 1 on the bottom (directly below the top 1 or to the side) or place both birds on top grate?

I'm no expert but I've done it both ways...with success. Both are good. I did one a week ago that I cooked at 350*, carefully monitoring the heat and it was moist and delicious. Before that I had been doing them indirect and sort of hit or miss with the temps and the results were sort of hit or miss, too.

Did another several weeks ago at 225-240* for about three hours and it was very good. I really put the smoke to it and you could taste it like you never do with a high heat chick. It was moist as well.

I am doing two this weekend for a 4th party and I will do them slow. Especially when the meat has cooled down, the smokier chicken tastes better to me.

DW has this one down. I, too, do them hot (400) and low (230), and like them both ways. At 400 they are essentially a smoke-roasted chicken much like an oven bird, but tastier. Low and slow they are fantastic as well with the smoky flavor. I use the leftovers in lots of dishes (pot pie, tacos, enchiladas, etc....)

I guess now you'll have to try both (if you haven't already.)

Rich

For beer can chicken, I cheat on my bullet and cook them on my Genesis gasser. I put a cast iron smoke box under the grate on top of the flavorizer bars then turn on the front and rear burners, get it up to 350 and place the yardbird directly in between. I've tried it several different ways and this works great for me. Also, while prepping the birds I put a piece of potato in the neck to "seal in" the steam coming off the cans.

I do it slow...240-250F. I am amazed still that it takes 4 hrs...I seems to jump to 140 quickly but take 2 hrs to finish from there.

I am also amazed all the beer isnt gone after 4 hrs.