Help

Chuck Dugas

TVWBB Pro
I'm doing the basis recipe for baby back ribs.I set the vents to 30%. My question is, What temp should I be getting at the dome? Its 4hrs now and i'm getting 210 to 220. The ribs are still tough??? At 30% even the hickory did not light or the apple wood balls wrapped in aluminum. I just increased to 50% on the vents.I'm still learning!!!!! I think I need a Higher temp. Any help out there in smokeland.??

open the vents. Your smoker is not hot enough.

I like to cook baby backs about 275° dome.

Most like to cook them around 240-250° dome.

You can foil them to tenderize and speed them up.

I leave my baby backs in the foil for approx 30 minutes...you may need a little more foil time.

You should be near 235-240 at the lid in my opinion, only getting around 210 at the lid means your grate temp is probably only at 190-200 which is too low.

As for it being 4 hours and them still tough, are you doing spares or baby backs? I find that my thick baby backs take around 6 hours at 225 to be how the family likes them.

If you still need to get the temp up take the door off and leave it off for a few minutes. baby backs usually take 6 hours at least. The meat will pull back and show 1/4 to 1/2 inch of the rib bones when they are getting near. Give 'em a little more time.

The recepie for beginers on this site is what I followed. How do you get 33% on the vents beats me. I used the shaft from the Weber temp gauage to set the vents.I think this is to small an opening to get those temps that you all sugested.(245-275). I pulled the baby back ribs at the 4-1/2 hrs.as the recepies calls for. The ribs tasted great but were very tough!! There was no wind and the temps outside was 81-76. How can you tell 30% to 33% is it that critical? Once I can figure out how to post pictures,I'll post mine. Thanks everyone for the help.....I NEED IT!!! Chuck...