Genesis 1000 redhead restoration - UK

MichaelEdwards

Hello all from (not so) sunny England. I've been browsing for some time as I have been looking for a restoration project to get into, and finally managed to find a genesis 1000 on sale in my country! Fortunately for me, it was even the colour I was looking for. I will try to post the progress I make, which may be slow as parts are more difficult to get hold of outside of the states, and I am lazy. I have zero experience, so any and all advice will be very welcome! Without further ado, please see what we're working with here. At the time of taking these photos, all I had done is buff up the red exterior and briefly soak the detachable metal interior parts / give them a scrape. I need to replace the burner tubes, but the ignition works and then bars are salvageable (I think!).

Please review the photos below and drop in any sage wisdom you may have - I'm going to start by disassembling the lot, sanding/cleaning, painting the frame and then external parts of the hood. I will need to re-cut the wood.

Cheers

IMG_1080.jpgIMG_1075.jpgIMG_1083.jpgIMG_1084.jpgIMG_1077.jpg
IMG_1085.jpg
IMG_1086.jpgIMG_1087.jpgIMG_1088.jpg

Welcome Michael! That's a nice redhead you picked up. The bars and even the grates look like they can be salvaged. Yes on replacing the burners as the cross burner is in 3 pieces. Lots of great info on this site and members who are willing to help, even if you don't have any experience in rehabbing grills. Here's a great place to start if you haven't already....

Please keep us posted on your progess and post those pics!

Welcome!
Looks like you found an excellent Grill to start with! Myself and others will be happy to help answer any questions you might have any time.

Always love those redheads. I’m sure it will look striking when you’re through. Looking forward to seeing your progress.

Yep, that is the grill most people think of when talking Classic Genesis grills. Red lid and all.