Custom table for my trusty Performer

jmbaute

I've been kicking this idea around for many years and finally executed on it over the holidays. The forums here were an important part of my research so I wanted to contribute back to it by sharing the project. There is not a lot of info out there on how to do this- probably because out of the box it is a great product. But, I wanted a more built in solution as we'll be adding a patio soon and I want to have a dedicated spot for the kettle & WSM.

0B54JLC.jpg

The project started out as a 2000ish stainless steel Performer. I designed it first using Sketchup. The frame is all cedar and the counter top is 1/2" plywood with hardie board and ceramic tile. I've got two battery operated spot lights for the work surface. May eventually run legit electric lights. It sits on 4 casters. There is flashing on the frame where it is close to the kettle, but in most spots there are several inches of clearance.

I am not a carpenter- there were lots of challenges for me on this since I'm really not good with woodworking. But it really wasn't that difficult and those more skilled could do this pretty easily.

Cost of the project was about $300 not including the grill. You could do it much more cheaply with pressure treated lumber. Shockingly the custom cover I've ordered was closer to $500. But, I can't have it out there unprotected and I didn't want some crappy home made tarp covering it up.

More pictures are at the link below. I can also send my Sketchup file to anyone by request.

http://imgur.com/a/kuAa7#0

Happy grilling, & thanks to Chris A for building such a great community here. I've been using this site since the beginning but this is the first chance I've had to contribute.

John
Blacksburg, Va

Last edited:
That looks great. What did you use under the tile? And how did you cut the tile to the contour?

Thinking about doing this as well. This may be the final kick I need.