Butts - Fat Cap Up or Down

Brian_B

I personally smoke Butts with the fat cap down on the grate, but have seen in some other posts that some cook with it up. What do you do?

I go cap up, and usually trim part of it off prior to rubbing though.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by timothy:
FC down, zero trim.

Tim </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

yep

I'm like Brad,no trimming,fat cap up. But whatever works for you brother. There are a million different opinions and procedures for PP and ribs and brisket,etc. If what you are doing works for you,keep up the good work.

Complete newbie question....

If you don't trim the butt, doesn't that decrease the amount of eatable bark there'll be?

I love the idea of not spending 30-40 minutes trimming, but I love that crust the outside gets.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Phil Perrin:
I'm like Brad,no trimming,fat cap up. But whatever works for you brother. There are a million different opinions and procedures for PP and ribs and brisket,etc. If what you are doing works for you,keep up the good work. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I like seeing that opinion expressed, thats how I feel. whatever works for you.

I typically do fat side up, but this batch of 17#'s I am doing tonight will be fat side down to see how I like it.

The fat cap "down" works as a heat diffuser against the direction of heat flow, especially if smoking butts on the bottom rack due to the outer "hot" zones. I'll admit though, it won't make a big difference on the top rack.

A secondary reason is that, although I rarely go to the trouble anymore, mopping does add additional flavors to the butt, but not much if the fat cap is up. The mop simply won't stay in contact with the bark as much with the top being mainly fat.