Brisket cook time

Brian_D

TVWBB Pro
Hi all, I'm going to attempt my first brisket on the 4th. I picked up a small 2 3/4# choice flat that has some nice marbling. It's probably 1 1/2 inches thick at its thickest. I plan on 225 indirect, using the firebrick method & foil it after the stall. Let it go to 205 or tender, which ever comes first. I know every hunk-o-meat is different & there is no definitive answer for cook time. But I have no experience with brisket & no idea when to start smoking. Can someone with experience give me some rough guidance? Thanks.
Oh, I also plan (hope is a better word) on holding it in a faux cambro (for more tenderness) after its done...
And I'm keeping the pizza place on speed dial - just in case!

Last edited:
I have seen the small flats in the grocery store but I have never cooked one.
The smallest flat I have cooked was 6# and I was smoking on the Genesis at the time.
That flat was cooked unwrapped for ~14 hours.

The smallest brisket I have cooked in the WSM was a 7.5# (before trimming) packer and I cooked it ~200-210 for ~13 hours.
It was tender at under 190 degrees.
I don't wrap my briskets, wrapping certainly speeds up the cooking time.
Wrap the meat once the stall begins, don't wait until the meat is past the stall.
If you wait out the stall you might as well just finish cooking unwrapped.

Sorry I don't have the finer details on time/temp but I stopped keeping a cook log after I got my methods figured out.

X mins per pound doesn't really apply here as the cook time is determined by the thickness of the cut. @225 indirect, I'd guess that you are looking at 8+ hrs even with foiling. Might be better to work this backwards. What time do you plan on eating ?

I've never cooked a brisket that small, good luck! I'm thinking like 5-6 hours at those temps including foil will get 'er done. But it sounds from the above posts like I could be wrong. I'm interested to hear how it goes.