Best foiled no water set up for 18.5" WSM (new style, old style, clay, brinkman pan)

Charlie L

TVWBB Super Fan
Best foiled no water set up for 18.5" WSM (new style, old style, clay, brinkman pan)

I just got a new WSM and i want to go without water in the pan to make easier clean up and not waste fuel heating water.
Without Water the pan is merely a diffuser Correct? I have a Pitmaster IQ 110 so that will help regulate temps.

What is the best Waterless set up?

- New Style Water Pan Empty & Foiled? This is what my WSM Came with. This will be close to the coals, will that help or hurt?

- Brinkman Pan Empty & Foiled? I know people used this for more water capacity then the old style pan. I happen to have one in the garage. Any benefits?

- Old Style Water Pan Empty & Foiled? I don’t have one per se, but I do have an extra Smokey Joe Lid that I could use foiled with the handle removed which is essentially the same as the old pan. I can likely find one online if it there’s a significant advantage

- Clay Saucer Empty & Foiled? I know some folks use these in place of Water pan as a heat sink/diffuser. Does the heat absorption affect the fuel usage adversely? Are there other advantages or disadvantages? What is the best size?

Make life easy and just remove the whole pan. You are correct. The pan is a defussior. I understand you got a new toy and your super excited. Everything you listed will yield the same result in the end. The WSM is very simple and effective design. Don't try to over think it or it will wreck your fun. If you are worried about fuel lost heating up water. Just bring your water to a boil first on the stove then add after your pit has reached temp. With a full basket, Your WSM will run 12-14 hrs(see basket mods) with the 110 in winter temps. I always encourage people to learn the WSM with out the pan. Once you learn it the pan makes life easy. Pretty much set it and forget it. Hope this helps

Last edited: