Beef short Ribs

Ernest

TVWBB Fan
Been messing with the WSM 14.5. My very first smoker.
Tried water in pan, foiled empty pan and I have settled with ceramic briquettes in the water pan.
Got some beef short ribs. My favorite BBQ meat.

Used pecan wood. I think I found my favorite Wood.
2 bottom dampers closed completely, third halfway open. Top vent fully open. Little WSM ran like a champ and between 220-235 for 5 hours.

Last edited:
I use a lot of pecan wood as well. Mostly because we had about 3 trees taken down in the lot next to my fire station, so I got an unlimited supply. Its kinda mild though so I add something else depend on what I'm cooking

Those short ribs look great man!

I use a lot of pecan wood as well. Mostly because we had about 3 trees taken down in the lot next to my fire station, so I got an unlimited supply. Its kinda mild though so I add something else depend on what I'm cooking

Those short ribs look great man!

Thank you Rick. It's my first time using Pecan. I prefer it over hickory.
Might try adding some apple Wood even I do some ribs.

Thank you Rick. It's my first time using Pecan. I prefer it over hickory.

X3 on Pecan. I recently switched to pecan for my bacon smokes....occasionally ill mix with apple but man is pecan smooth!

Nice looking beef ribs BTW....I may have to try those

X3 on Pecan. I recently switched to pecan for my bacon smokes....occasionally ill mix with apple but man is pecan smooth!

Nice looking beef ribs BTW....I may have to try those

Thank you Steve! Love these, especially when you don't have company to justify smoking a packer. You'll love them, make sure you get the meaty ones.

It's my first time using Pecan. I prefer it over hickory.

I like to use mesquite when I do St. Louis style ribs. It has a burnt smell when cooking but not on the food.

I think some of the pecan I have is really old and maybe dry cuz it almost seems too mild sometimes.