4 butts on 18.5"

Benji Whitehead

TVWBB Member
I need to make pulled pork for 40 hungry baptists this weekend. I think 3 butts might be enough but I'm probably going to do 4 to be safe and have leftovers. I've never done 4 on my smoker before. I've taken out the water pan and use a clay pot base, will that have any impact on the usefulness of the bottom rack? Will it take longer to cook 4 butts compared to 2? Also, the weather forecast for Friday night looks rainy. I thought about putting the smoker in my detached garage to stay out of the wind/rain. I'll leave the garage door cracked open and run the attic vent fan I have overhead to clear out the smoke.

I've done 6 butts on my 18.5 no problem. I cant speak to the clay pot base question as I have used a dry foil lined water pan but your cooking time will extend a bit. Butts act as pretty good heat sinks but I did a charcoal refill about 3/4 of the way through the cook and I took the butts off when they were done and had a LOT of unburned charcoal left. I didn't want to chance of running dry but I think I could have made it on a single very full charcoal ring.

You may burn more fuel than normal since all that meat will act as a heat sink. Other than that a 18.5" is fully capable of cooking #4 butts at once.

I have done 4 on my 18.5 several times. I rotate the meat top to bottom mid smoke. Otherwise not much different. Personally I use my pan with water.

Mike

Matt, how did you get 6 on? Is that the teepee method? If so, plz explain.

I guess it was more of a clover leaf method if you can understand what I mean. It was tight but I got 3 on the top and 3 on the bottom rack.

I did post a couple years ago about this, and it seems I used a full water pan, not dry and the total smoke session went 22 hours for 6 9lbs butts. I guess my memory is not what it used to be.

Last edited:
so here's the scoop.