2022 Kettles

Rich-revinit

I was just looking at the new kettles at Home Depot. One word...FLIMSY! Is this how all Weber kettles are made now? I hope not! Chinese garbage!

The 2022’s are no different than they’ve been for years. And what’s so flimsy about them? Because I haven’t seen it

Weber kettles are Made In the USA, not China.
Actually up the road in Huntley IL.
I have a Mastertouch new from last year. while defiantly lighter than my old ones it's not flimsy by any means.

The 2022’s are no different than they’ve been for years. And what’s so flimsy about them? Because I haven’t seen it
The ones at HD are very thin metal. Much thinner than the one I bought for my daughter 2 years ago. I have one if the old, solid as a rock kettles.

I was just looking at the new kettles at Home Depot. One word...FLIMSY! Is this how all Weber kettles are made now? I hope not! Chinese garbage!
I bought a 22" kettle in 2021 and was impressed that was at least as sturdy as the one I bought 35 years ago, and with improved features.

Last edited by a moderator:
The ones at HD are very thin metal. Much thinner than the one I bought for my daughter 2 years ago. I have one if the old, solid as a rock kettles.
I don’t believe they are. I’ve got a ‘69/‘70 kettle and a brand new one and can’t say they differ much at all.

They certainly aren’t thin nor flimsy

I thought the same about the 22” that Costco is selling right now with the lid hinge. It was definitely lighter and flimsier compared to my older 22” kettles, which I confirmed when I got home.

As far as the claim ‘Made in the USA’, I am skeptical when it’s followed by ‘from globally sourced components’.

For example:
C.F. Martin Guitars produces their guitars in Nazareth, PA from ’Materials Sourced Around the World.’