WSM 18 running away

PeterD

TVWBB Super Fan
I've got a disaster in the making for my brisket cook tonight and I have zero clue what happened or what to do about it. I've had wild temp swings on this thing in the past but tonight it's completely out of control. I have a Flame Boss controller, I lit about a dozen coals and put them on top of a heaping ring of unlit as I've been doing since 2008. Tonight the temps stabilized briefly and then shot off to the moon. I've got both bottom vents closed, the blower fan unplugged, the top vent open only about 10% but thick white smoke is coming out the rim in waves.

I opened it up to put some water in the water pan...and the damned water pan flipped over and spilled onto the coals and evaporated instantly. I righted the pan, put in more cold water, put the lid back on (again, top vend just open a little) and it shot right back up. I haven't done anything differently than in the past but something is obviously very, very wrong inside here.

I've got a 12# Prime brisket on the top grate and I'm afraid the thick white smoke is going to ruin it, not to mention cook it 10 hours before service at these nuclear-like temps. HELP!

WSM.jpg

The only thing I can think of is that you have a gap between the centre section and the lower bowl, or the door, unlikely as that is.
Or the flame boss went mental, and ignited more coals than usual, which set the wood alight as opposed to it smouldering. (Hence the billowing white smoke).
Did you find out what the problem was Peter?

Looks like the wood chunks caught fire. They were buried under a layer of unlit coals so it shouldn't have happened. When they went they also set my entire charcoal bed going full tilt as if I was grilling. There was almost no source of oxygen in the fire pit and the top vent was just open about 1/4 of the way. I don't get why this happened.