WSM 18 1/2 " Lower grate

Ron A

TVWBB Fan
OK, so I've been cooking up some serious ribs, ABT's and butts for about 3 months now and am loving it (as are my wife, kids, friends and neighbors). But I still consider myself to be a "newbie" since I haven't done an overnight smoke. But my question relates to the lower rack on the WSM. Does anybody use it?? And if so, what for? I'm serious here. I can cook about 15+ lbs of butt, 5+ lbs of ribs or myriad other stuff on the top rack. What do people cook on the lower rack?

Inquiring minds want to know. :confused:

I have used the bottom rack for ribs. I usually do 3 racks and i can't fit them all on my top rack on the 18 1/2 WSM. Also i haven't done it yet but i'm thinking of doing 2 turkeys this year. So if i do i will use the bottom rack. I believe others have used it for baked beans or if they do a large amount of lbs for pulled pork. They load that sucker up.

Yep. I am not very selective about using it. To me it is just another rack. I use it for when I do large amount that won't all fit on the top like when I do four pork butts. Two on the top and two on the bottom. I normally cook on the top grate only more for the sake of convenience.

Besides using it for large loads, its perfect for doing some sides that you want the drippings to flavor.
Beans are one that butts or ribs add a little sump-thin to.
I like to add a tray of taters,onion and garlic under poultry to catch that love! (screw the EVO and try some real flavor!)
As long as the poultry is cooked to safe temps whatever is cooked below is golden :wsm:

Tim

Besides using it for large loads, its perfect for doing some sides that you want the drippings to flavor.
Beans are one that butts or ribs add a little sump-thin to.
I like to add a tray of taters,onion and garlic under poultry to catch that love! (screw the EVO and try some real flavor!)
As long as the poultry is cooked to safe temps whatever is cooked below is golden :wsm:

Tim
AMEN.