Why vertical handles on smoker?

Hey, I like the “knob” idea, especially for an 18 or smaller. The weight of the barrel on those is going to be an easier lift.
Bigger handles on a 22 makes sense but for the lighter units, a pair of knobs is brilliant!
As for mounting handles vertically, you can still have your wrists in a more relaxed orientation than turned “down”
Mere speculation on my part, I’ve never lifted the center section during a cook so, I’ve no experience first hand but, I really do like the knob idea.

Yeah I like that knob idea also. I don’t see why a couple of metal knobs would not work on a 22. The center section is really not that much heavier than a 18. Think I may just have to make a run to the hardware store today.

I replaced the vertical garage door handles on my 18 with four of these knobs. Much more use-able. Screw right into the existing top bracket holes in like 10 seconds. Big enough for a good grip, stay cool to the touch, and stick out enough to not require hot gloves.

Just be careful to buy the right size and length T bolts to fit your cooker. I forget which one was the right one, so you'd have to measure. Maybe 1 inch long? Definitely the smaller diameter threading.

Last edited:
Vertical is ...odd. There, I said it.

I'll say this too, you also need a set on the bottom for picking it up and dumping it. Yeah, can use the legs....but if you need to cary it a ways, handles are very nice.

Simple black handles and as screws are perfect IMO. I don't understand vertical galvanized garage door handles, but to each their own.

IMG_20181229_172258572.jpg

Last edited:
I move my 22" around a fair amount and am 100% OK without handles. I can't recall taking the barrel off during a cook, or when hot, but I've got welding gloves and a reasonably sure grip. I think either handle orientation would work OK. I would lean toward vertical handles it seems like that way you'd have a little less strain on your wrists when lifting.