Which Genesis?

Rob Mc

Hello, I am in the market for a grill and I know I want a Genesis, but the amount of models are overwhelming. I was originally looking at the E310 but I am leaning towards the E410 for the greater cooking space (we plan to have guests over often). I am not experienced in grilling but am looking to get into it now that I own my own house. In addition to a large cooking area, I mostly want to be able to properly sear steaks. When it comes to value I am torn between getting the E410 or spending the same and getting a better 300 series, like an S330. I don't care for the enclosed propane tank or having side burners, but the extra searing burner and having stainless steel seems intriguing. Any thoughts or input? I am also confused as to the difference between S and SE models. It appears S models are better than SE as they are more expensive. I found someone selling a brand new "SE 410" locally...not really sure what that is and I'm assuming it's discontinued as on Weber's site I only see the E410. Any clarification would be great.

S means it has a Stainless Steel lid, flavor bars and grates.

SE means it has a colored lid, and stainless steel flavor bars and grates....also has the cool Weber Special Edition logo badge.
SE models are only sold at BBQ specialty shops and stores like Ace. Home Depot doesn't offer them.

I'd go with the SE and find a unique color that you like, maybe brick red? I don't like the stainless lids. Hard to keep clean IMO

I have an S-310 from around 2008. "Only" 3 burners, but it has a lot of grilling surface. 4 burner seems massive to me. Weber didn't used to offer the 4+ burners in a decent price range until now.