What is the right size?

Jon Westerlin

Hi everyone. I am new to this just wanted get some expert opinions on what is the right size 14, 18, 22. I am not so concerned about price more about what will last me long term. I have just me and my wife but do entertain some.

That's really a personal decision based on budget, use, space, etc. I have a 14.5" and a 22.5". My 14.5" is for the RV and the 22.5" is a permanent fixture on the Big Deck. I've done a pork butt, a whole chicken, two racks of ribs (cut each rack in half), a spiral sliced ham, fattie, etc, etc on the 14.5" and have only used the top food grate. I imagine I could do more if I used the bottom food grate. Of course, the 22.5" can cook anything you wanna put on it but I imagine the largest thing I've cooked is a HUGE 22+ lb turkey.

Think about what and how you wanna use it and go for it. HTH.

There's a reason Weber makes 3 sizes. There isn't a "right size" answer we can give you. Listen to Dwains info. I have the 22, 18, and a 14" mini built from a Smokey Joe. I use them all.

Jon, the Smokey Joe is great but don't overlook the Go-Anywhere model. Depending on size and space limitations when traveling it might be more practical than a fixed-leg grill.

I am a new WSM owner. I think it's true that the larger the cooker, the more fuel it will burn. So, if you are not needing the extra space for most of your cooks, you will be wasting money on fuel for most of your cooks. How much? I don't really know. But, I have 22.5" and a 26.75" kettles grills. The difference is noticeable.