Up to temperature

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anthony G.

TVWBB Super Fan
It seems to me it takes a long time to "get up to temp". I am using the Minion method and starting with all vents at 100 percent. It's been about 45 minnutes and the temperature hasn't passed 200 degrees.

Am I being impatient?

Conditions: Slight rain (I'm under cover)..Ambient Temp=82 degrees...no wind.

I have found waiting to fill the water pan (with very hot water) until the cooker comes up to temp on these types of cooks to be helpful in speeding things up.

Anthony

You're being impatient
icon_smile.gif
. It often takes me from an hour to 1 1/2 hrs to get temp up to target range. Maybe one day I'll try Doug's trick, but in the meantime, just pop another "cold one".

Paul

Granted I'm very new to the WSM, but in my experience, it depends on the amount of meat I have in there. However, in my first couple of smokes, I had trouble with getting the temps too high too fast (no food on the grates and I left the vents open too long), so I like to just take it slow and easy up to temp and then cut it back when it gets there (1/2 hr to 1 hour for me). Much easier to wait a few more minutes than have to try and fight a hot smoker for a couple of hours.

Curtis, you are right. It's much easier to control the temp on the way up than try to bring it back down.If it gets way to hot, you can add some ice to the water pan to help cool it back down to the desired temp. I also add hot water to the pan. Later Bryan

I have done two cooks and my experience has been the opposite. Using the MM and 20 or so hot coals (using sand instead of water) my cooker is hitting 200 + in 15 to 20 minutes. As others have pointed out , I have ended up battling to keep temps down 2 to 3 hours into the cook, as the WSM seems to settle in the 270-280 range. This is with all 3 vents closed, and having to shut down the top vent to get things back to the 230-240 range.