Tri-tip question

Hayden McCall

TVWBB All-Star
My butcher recently had tri-tips on sale for roughly $6-$7 apiece. They're cryovac packaged, so I bought a ton to put in the freezer. I have two Performers. I do not have a WSM, and may never acquire one, as I've done well cooking low and slow on the kettle.

Now onto the meat of the matter. Typically I cook tri-tips indirect with a reverse sear. My question is, can I cook tri-tips low 'n slow, and would there be a benefit to doing such?

I recently did a high heat brisket, and after doing it, I doubt I'd ever do an lns brisket ever again. It was that good.

Tri-tips are one of my favorite cuts, but I'm still relatively new to them. I'd like it to become a cut I'm fairly accomplished at. So if anyone has some basic tips about how they approach these, I'd love to hear from you.
icon_smile.gif

I just bot a tri tip and I'm also interested in reading what the experienced folks here have say. If I may, I'd like to ask how many people will I be able to feed with a 2.5 lb tri tip.

I agree with Chris A on his target temp and method, here.
No WSM needed though.
He states:
"You can cook tri-tip "low & slow" at 225-250°F, if you prefer. Cook to the same internal temperature of 125-135°F and finish directly over the hot coals to sear the meat, as described above. It may take two hours or more for the meat to reach your target internal temp."

IMO, cook them hot and fast or low and slow, just don't overcook them.

Dom,
My guess is that 2.5 lbs in sandwiches might feed 7 or 8, as the main course maybe 4 or 5.

No need to cook low and slow.

Traditionly they are grilled direct over coals.. Reverse sear if you wish to get the interior temps up before finishing over coals (especially for thicker cuts).

$6-$7 a piece must be about $2 to $3 a lb. which is not a bad price for Select. Choice is usually $3.00+ a lb on the west coast at Costco.