Total newbie - first brisket, please check my method :)

Got my boyfriend a WSM 18 for christmas, I think I'm more excited than him about it because I did our first smoke on it yesterday - small cut of brisket 2.5kg. Would love if you could do a quick check over what I did it, turned out better than I expected but already keen to make improvements.

- 20 lit briquettes into basket of unlit using minion method
- wait until 275 degres (I used our new digi q dx3) placed some dry hickory wood chips around lit coals
- IT hit 163 after 4.5 hours and I wrapped in foil expecting a stall but it only lasted about 20 mins and kept rising quite steadily
- Pulled off 2 hours after wrapping at IT of 207
- Rested in cooler with with towels for 3.5 hours

Had some fluctuations in pit temp, although maybe that's pretty normal for a brand new bbq and new ATC etc, it was a pretty warm day here in Oz.

I didn't use a water pan, i have read it defeats the purpose when using an ATC, is this true? Our friend swears by using both, saying it keeps meat moist.

Overall very pleased with our brisket, it was tender, has a light smokey flavour (I think we need to use the blocks of wood instead of chips) but it was definitely a bit dry so that's the first thing I'd like the try working with if anyone has any tips on how I could change up my method, was maybe thinking a lower temperature?

The butcher cut me off a 2.5kg bit off the thicker end of the whole brisket so when it cooked it was kind of separated, I'm assuming point and flat. Should I be asking for a particular part or separating these two sections beforehand? See second picture a few hours into cook.

Attachments

• 20201229_070101.jpg
    20201229_070101.jpg
    261.1 KB · Views: 11
  • 20201229_111648.jpg
    20201229_111648.jpg
    234.2 KB · Views: 14