tips for 1st prime rib - timing??

Jamie Mathews

TVWBB Member
My parents 50th wedding anniversary is this weekend, I'm cooking for 13 adults. I have done many whole tenderloin roasts (indirect on my kettleT, but my folks love prime rib, so I'm leaning in that direction.

I've never done a prime rib before. I'm wondering about timing. My butcher only has boneless rib roasts, I'm thinking about getting a 12 pounder. I figure I'll cook it indirect on my kettle, at temps around 300-350, using lump with a little oak chunkage for smoke.

About how long should this take? I read about 20 minutes a pound, but that was for a bone-in roast, not sure if boneless is different?

Any suggestions/recipes would be appreciated, especially regarding timing.

Also, when I do tenderloins, I usually sear over direct high heat for a few minutes to get that sear. Should I do the same with prime rib roast?

Don't overcook it! There are a lot of posts on this and other sites about rib roasts. Internal temperature for a rib roast is arguable, but many people like it rare, so taking it off at about 110 internal temperature, and letting it stand for a while to keep cooking, might be sufficient. Some people like to go up to 125. A good thermometer is key.

Searing is a matter of taste. I like the char, so I usually do it.

Good luck.

Did one on my uncle's gasser with a rotisserie last week. Wasn't nearly as big as that (probably 6-8#). had it on low/medium heat for about 90mins and it was perfect. Pulled it off with the middle sitting at 120*.

Jamie, here's an approach if you have the time and money to spare:

Buy 3 nearly-identical 6-pound roasts. Cook 1 of them a day or 2 ahead of time and take really detailed notes about the entire process so that you can figure out what worked and what didn't. Then apply that knowledge to the other 2 roasts on the day of the cook (6-pounders will give you more flexibility if you have a crowd that has a wide range of tastes).