Temperature Controllers and the Summit Charcoal Kamado

John_NJ

TVWBB Wizard
A little background- I am new to the charcoal grilling game but am committed to giving it a go, all in.

So far, it’s been a learning curve just getting the hang of temperature regulation and quantity of briquettes- very basic level stuff, but it’s going well.

I am anticipating moving on from direct/ indirect cooking to low and slow sometime this fall/ winter.

I have read through many of the threads in the “Automatic Temperature Control Systems” forum- the first few pages of threads at least, in addition to other…cough cough…bbq forums, and am still not sure which direction to go.

For the record, I am not asking for opinions on whether I need one or not, since I have already decided I will purchase some type of controller and WiFi based alarm to alert me if the temperature gets too high or low.

And I have read many accounts of how “rock steady” the Summit Charcoal is at maintaining temperature, but I am somewhat of a gear head and figure I need some help until I am more “seasoned”.

What type of system should someone with no grilling experience think about getting, in your opinion.

@DanHoo has posted about the Billows ATC, and I am considering purchasing that with a Signals thermometer- or perhaps the X4.

TL;DR:

Any ATC better suited to the Summit Charcoal? It’s the only charcoal grill I plan on owning so that is a consideration for me.

Thanks in advance.

+10 for the HeaterMeter, but DIY isn't everyone's cup of tea. I use mine on our BGE, and I've adapted it to our kettles using a SS dog dish with a through-bolt through one of the existing bottom vent slots to adapt the blower. I'm not familiar with the E/S6 but without boring a hole, the blower mount will be something you want to look at. I have to remove the ash catcher to mount the blower on a kettle with my setup...maybe something better is out there...