Smoking my first "BIG" brisket- any tips?

Jason Kuczynski

Good morning, all!

My wife 'voluntold' me I'll be smoking a brisket this Saturday. We are looking at one that's about 15 lbs or so, lots of people coming over.

I've done 3 or 4 corned beef briskets in the past as practice, but never one this large.

We have a 22.5" WSM. I figured to start it around midnight Friday to be done around 1700 Saturday. Does that sound correct?

I guess my biggest questions revolve around heat- in using this particular WSM it will hold temp for about 3 hours or so then start fluctuation either up or down. In practice, I've never had to 'refill' it yet, all of my smokes have been under about 6 hours. Is the procedure for refilling the charcoal the same as when it's lit- unburned, then dump the lit chimney on top?

Sorry for the noob questions. But I guess I am a noob when it comes to long smokes like this.

Thanks in advance!
v/r,
jason

Welcome to the brisket circus!
I generally do them as an “overnight cook” starting around ten. No water, just foiled terracotta saucer. Rear vents at about 25%, front, full open. Smoke wood on the bottom, fill charcoal ring full to overflowing.
Here is where I do things a little differently…
Assemble the midsection and light through the door with a torch, just at the leading edge about two to three minutes.
Put the brisket on set probes, lid on and go to bed.
If it’s done at 11:00 fine, longer rest! If it’s not done until 13:00 perfect three to four hour rest double fouled and wrapped with a towel in a cooler while I runaround getting the rest together!
That’s just how I do it.
I can get twelve hours of fairly even heat with very little running back and forth worrying.
I hope that helps.

I’d recco water in the pan so as to help regulate and stabilize temps for a nooby.

Using a water pan will enable you to do the overnight at 225-240° and not fear runaway temps.